Book Tarot Card Reading : Tarot card reading near me |Life Positive

What is Tarot card reading?

Tarot card reading is the practice of reading tarot cards to glean insights into your life and find resolutions to obstacles you have faced, are facing, and will face in the future. Tarot card reading can also provide a lot of information about the person's present life as well. When the person becomes fully aware of the present, he or she gains the potential to change his/her way of thinking and acting. And the individual can make necessary changes in his life in order to overcome the problems of the present as well as preempt roadblocks in the future.

Overall, there are 78 tarot cards. Especially, in the 18th century, tarot cards were used for occult and divination purposes. Its role was limited to that of ordinary playing cards in the 15th century.


Tarot Card Reading

How Tarot cards work?

Generally, in a one-to-one session, there are 2 people involved: the Tarot card reader, and another one is the seeker.


  1. Shuffle the Tarot card deck properly. Also, you should lay the deck upside down on a table and spread it in a semicircle.
  2. Depending on the nature of a query that the seeker/client places, the number of cards to be chosen is decided. It can be a 1 card solution or multi-card solution. Generally, the client has the privilege to choose the cards.
  3. Depending on the positivity or resemblance of the card, the reader answers to the client's query. It is important to understand that each and every card has a unique nature and different meanings associated with it.

Let's understand this in detail....

Generally, a tarot card deck consist of 2 sections; the minor arcana and the major arcana.

The Minor Arcana cards depict trivial and daily happenings and events occurring in an individual's life. The Major Arcana depicts larger and profound lessons that have a significant role in life.

Minor Arcana Tarot Cards

The Minor Arcana comprises of 56 cards in the 78-card Tarot deck. Generally, in Minor Arcana, there are four suits of 14 cards each. Also, each suite consists of 14 cards, and are numbered from 1 (Ace) to 10. Furthermore, these 10 cards are known as 'Pip' cards. It is followed by four 'Court' cards, the King, Queen, Knight, and Page.

Each suit comes under the category of a symbol, such as a Pentacle, Wand, Cup, or Sword.


  • Suit of Cups
    This is analogous to the Water element.
    Represents Emotions and Feelings.
  • Suit of Pentacles
    This is analogous to the Earth element.
    Represents: Health, Money, and Finance.
  • Suit of Swords
    This is analogous to the Air element.
    Represents Knowledge and Intellect.
  • Suit of Wands
    This is analogous to the Fire element.
    Represents Inspiration and Ambition.


Major Arcana Tarot Cards

The Major Arcana or trumps comprise of 22 cards in the 78-card Tarot deck. Furthermore, the Major Arcana, are numbered from 0 to 21. Additionally, each Major Arcana depicts a scene, which features one or more person, with many symbolic elements.


  • The Fool
    Represents New start and initiative.
  • The Magician
    Represents Innovation and creativity.
  • The High Priestess
    Represents Luck, Secret, and Mysticism.
  • The Empress
    Represents Pillar of stability, bond, and feminine power.
  • The Emperor
    Represents Pillar of strength, rules and masculine power.
  • The Hierophant
    Represents Belief, tradition, and religion.
  • The Lovers
    Represents Maturity, relationship, and love.
  • The Chariot
    Represents Willpower, determination, and victory.
  • Strength
    Represents: Courage, passions, strength, confidence, patience and compassion.
  • The Hermit
    Represents Inquisitive nature and seeker.
  • Wheel of Fortune
    Represents Destiny.
  • Justice
    Represents Truthfulness, law, and justice.
  • The Hanged Man
    Represents Aimless and no objective.
  • Death
    Represents End and completion.
  • Temperance
    Represents Great balance and strength between the different areas and people in your life that are working together.
  • The Devil
    Represents Behaviour, desire, fear compulsion and addiction.
  • The Tower
    Represents Disruption and Obstruction.
  • The Star
    Represents Optimism, hope, and happiness.
  • The Moon
    Represents Illusion, insecurity, and anxiety.
  • The Sun
    Represents Success, joy, warmth, and happiness.
  • Judgement
    Represents Action, responsibility, act and impartial nature.
  • The World
    The World is the final Major Arcana card Represents Goal, destination, fulfillment and successful completion of an objective.

3 card tarot

Myths about Tarot card reading

  • You cannot read your own tarots
    This is a myth, you can definitely learn and practice reading your own tarot cards.
  • Tarot card predictions are always true
    Tarot card reading is for effectively understanding the present, it doesn't predict the future. It enables you to understand what is going right/wrong you, and how you can change it. However, by no means is tarot cards one hundred percent accurate.
  • Other people shouldn't touch your tarot cards
    This is a superstition. The fact is, some people are careful and conservative and don't let others to touch their cards.


Wish to reap the immense benefits of Tarots? Book an appointment with a Tarot expert here

* Reference used: (For Major and Minor Arcanas' description)