Yoga for Holistic Health

By Jamuna Rangachari

Yoga is predominantly concerned with maintaining a state of equanimity at all costs. Yoga is a synergy of the body, mind and spirit as yoga always maintains that a calm mind with conscious breathing is extremely important for complete wellness.

In Sanskrit, the term 'yoga' stands for 'union'. A yogi's ultimate aim is to be able to attain this 'union' with the Eternal Self with the help of certain mental and physical exercises.

Yoga for complete synergyYoga is a synergy of the body, mind and spirit for holistic health and complete wellness.

The basic idea of yoga is to unite the atma or individual soul with the paramatma or the Universal Soul. According to philosophy of yoga, by cleansing one's mind and controlling one's thought processes one can return to that primeval state, when the individual self was nothing but a part of the Divine Self or the Cosmos itself. This is the sense encapsulated in the term samadhi. The aim of the yogi is to be able to perceive the world in its true light and to accept that truth in its entirety.

In Sanskrit, the term 'yoga' stands for 'union'. Yoga’s ultimate aim is to be able to attain this 'union' with the Eternal Self with the help of certain mental and physical exercises. It is often said that the Cosmic Womb himself had originally advocated the traditional system of yoga, from which all other yoga schools have evolved. But for all extant knowledge of yoga and its practices, such as yoga asanas and pranayama, the entire credit goes to Maharishi Patanjali. It was Maharashi Patanjali who systematized the various yogic practices and traditions of his times by encapsulating them in the form of aphorisms in his Yoga Sutra. Here, he describes the aim of yoga as knowledge of the self and outlines the eight steps or methods of achieving it.

These steps are:

  1. Yamas or eternal vows of Yoga

The most often mentioned Yamas are – Ahimsa (non-violence), Satya (non-falsehood, truthfulness), Asteya (non-stealing), Mitahara (non-excess in food, moderation in food), Kshama (non-agitation about suffering, forgiveness), Daya (non-prejudgment, compassion) that really help in stabilising our mind.

These include restraining oneself in one's actions, words and thoughts

  1. Niyamas or observances of Yoga

 The Hatha Yoga Pradipika lists the ten niyamas in the following order, in verse

    Tapas: persistence, perseverance in one's purpose, austerity

    Santosa :
Please login / register to view the rest of the article

About The Author

Jamuna Rangachari is a software professional and writer who currently manages the websites of Life Positive and also writes for the magazine. She has authored three books for children, compiled and interpreted Teaching Stories-I and II for Life Positive and published a book “Dancing with Life” through Hay House.


A mother of two children, she is keen that the next generation is balanced and grounded which is why she made a foray into writing and wrote for them, trying to reach out to them through her writing. Writing to her is a passion as she does wish to convey the idea of oneness and human values to one and all. Her articles have also been published in Daily News and Analysis, New woman, Khabar an NRI magazine, Wedding Vows and Times of India among others.


She also blogs at

Post Your Query

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments [ 0 ]

Search for anything you wish to know in the area of body, mind or spirit on thousands of our pages on all things positive